“As I sent you, I now send my Son”

Not a long post today, but hopefully a helpful one.

It seems pretty clear: Jesus’ mission is our mission, right?  “Just as the Father has sent me, I also send you” (John 20:21).  He came to glorify the father through multiplying who would rightly reflect him.  As his people, sent by him, we live for the same things he did.  It’s hardly rocket science.

The funny thing about Jesus’ mission, is that it has always been our mission!  We might surmise that the Father’s sending of Jesus went something like this: “Just as I sent them, I also send you.”

If this seems strange to you, look again at God’s original commandments to man in the garden: #1 “Be fruitful and multiply! Fill the earth and subdue it!” (Genesis 1:28) and later, #2 the command about what trees Adam and Eve could eat from.  Why did God command Adam and Eve to multiply and fill the earth?  Because, as we read in the verse just prior, they bear his image!  God is saying essentially, “Fill the earth with my image!”

Not surprisingly, this is not the last time this command will be given:

“Go out from your country, your relatives and your father’s household to the land that I will show you
Then I will make you a great nation and I will bless you
And I will make your name great” (Genesis 12:12)

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.  And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:19-20)

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the farthest parts of the earth.” (Acts 1:8)

So, “Just as the Father has sent me, I also send you”  Go multiply and glorify through the same kind of life-on-life Jesus practiced!

Leave a Reply

